# Tesla Roadster 2028: Performance, Thrust and Rocket variants, explained

> Tesla unveiled the next-gen Roadster with SpaceX cold-gas thrusters: three variants, a sub-one-second 0-60 claim, 2028 production target. Specs and deposits.

*Source: https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028 · Updated: 2026-10-16 · Category: Hardware · Tags: Tesla, Electric Vehicles, Roadster*

*Markdown version of [Tesla Roadster 2028: Performance, Thrust and Rocket variants, explained](https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028). [Read the full guide with interactive tools](https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028).*
*Also as Markdown: [Hindi](https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028.hi.md) · [Tamil](https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028.ta.md).*

---

**Tesla revealed its next-generation Roadster on October 15, 2026** at SpaceX's McGregor,
Texas test site – a white two-seater co-developed with SpaceX that, in the live demo, drove up a ramp,
crossed over onto a vertical wall, drove inverted, and later jumped a truck using built-in
**cold-gas thrusters**. Three variants went up on Tesla's reservation page the same
night: **Performance**, **Thrust**, and an invite-only, single-seat
**Rocket**. Musk said production is targeted for **2028**. This is a
production-intent evolution of the 2017 Roadster prototype, nine years in the making.

Every other site will repeat that spectacle. Here is what they skip: Tesla redacted the exact battery
capacity and pricing from its briefing before the event, the 0–60 and top-speed figures are stage
targets (Tesla quotes sub-one-second 0–60 for the Thrust variant; Reuters reported "over 230 mph" for
the top-speed claim), the flagship range promise shrank from 620+ miles (2017) to "300+", and the
"flight" bits stay closed-course demonstrations on private property – nothing added to the US
road rules. That is what this guide covers.

*Source note:* specs, times and reservations come from the Oct 15 event, Tesla's updated Roadster
page and reporting by Reuters and MotorTrend (which got pre-event access and says Tesla asked for key
numbers to be redacted). All performance figures are vendor claims for a prototype – not independently
verified production specs.

**Related:** it was a busy week in tech hardware. If you came for the compute angle rather
than the car angle, read our guide to the [NVIDIA RTX Spark laptops](https://velstech.net/rtx-spark-laptops) that
launched the very next day, or our
[local-AI desktop showdown](https://velstech.net/dgx-spark-rtx-spark-ryzen-ai-halo).

![The next-generation Tesla Roadster shown at the October 15, 2026 reveal event](img/tesla-roadster-2028/roadster-reveal.jpg)
The next-gen Tesla Roadster at its Oct 15, 2026 reveal at SpaceX's McGregor, Texas test facility. Image: © Tesla, Inc. – still frame from Tesla's official Roadster Event livestream; used here for editorial coverage.

## The short version: Roadster 2028 in 60 seconds

- What: an all-new Tesla two-seater sports car, built as a production-intent evolution of the 2017 prototype and co-developed with SpaceX tech – active suction fans, compressed-gas thrusters, and a skateboard platform with two rear motors.

- Price / date: no final pricing announced – production targeted for 2028. Reservations: $50,000 deposit for Performance ($5,000 now, $45,000 within 10 days) and $250,000 for Thrust; Rocket is invite-only.

- Specs: 4680-cell pack over 100 kWh (exact capacity withheld), two Plaid-derived motors making ~1 megawatt (~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft), target weight ~1,700 kg, 300+ mile range, 10–80% charge in ~10–12 minutes (vendor).

- Headline claim: Performance: 0–60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph; Thrust: 0–60 under one second and a top-speed target around 383 mph; Rocket: sustained "hopping" and yaw-control demos using six extra thrusters.

- Catch: every number is a vendor claim on a prototype; the road-legal variants do not include any demonstrated thruster "flight"; range target is now less than half of what was promised for this car in 2017; pricing unknown after deposits.

- Who: collectors and performance enthusiasts able to stomach six-figure non-refundable-on-time deposits – for everyday buyers this is a halo car, not a practical choice.

## What the new Roadster actually is

It is a ground-up reboot, not the 2017 prototype restyled. Tesla calls it a skateboard platform like
every Model S since: a large flat battery between the wheels feeding two motors (not the Plaid's
three) mounted at the rear. The battery uses Tesla's large-format 4680 cells in new chemistry and a
cooling architecture with a titanium shielding cover; the pack holds "substantially more than 100
kWh" – the exact figure was redacted at Tesla's request ahead of publication, presumably because it
wasn't finalized.

Performance-side hardware reads far past Plaid though: a drive unit about 30% lighter and 50% more
powerful, targeting ~1 MW total (~500 kW per motor), roughly 1,500 hp and near-1,000 lb-ft; a target
kerb weight of around 1,700 kg; and full drive-by-wire braking, steering and throttle with independent
carbon-ceramic brakes. That combination, if it all works, is where the sub-2-second timescale comes
from even before any fancy suction or thrust tech.

## The three variants, and which one does what

| Variant | Special hardware | Claims (vendor) | Reservation |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | Four underbody fans + "aero fences" (active suction), F1-inspired active wings and vents | 0–60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph top speed; downforce even at standstill; track modes | $50,000 ($5k now + $45k in 10 days) |
| Thrust | Performance package plus a ~200-liter, 10,000-psi COPV tank behind the seats feeding four rear cold-gas thrusters | 0–60 under 1 second, top-speed target ~383 mph (Musk: "half the speed of sound") | $250,000 ($5k now + $245k in 10 days) |
| Rocket | Single-seat; second, doubled COPV (600 L total); 6 added thrusters (one behind each wheel pointing down, two at the nose for yaw) | Sustained ground "hops," yaw flips; the vehicle that jumped the truck on stage (invite-only) | Invite only |

The honest row is the last one: the variant ladder exists so that the flagship tech – the one
that jumped the truck and did the barrel roll – is not actually the model most people can order.
Performance and Thrust are buildable road cars; Rocket is effectively a one-off program Tesla gets
to gatekeep.

## Specs at a glance

| Spec | 2028 Roadster (target) | 2017 prototype promise |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Powertrain | 2 rear motors, ~1 MW, ~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft | 3 motors, ~1,000 hp + "10,000 Nm wheel torque" claim |
| Battery | 4680 cells, "well over 100 kWh" (exact figure withheld) | "200 kWh" claim |
| 0–60 mph | under ~1.6 s (Performance) / under 1 s (Thrust, with thrust boost) | under 2 s |
| Top speed | 210+ mph (Performance) / ~383 mph target (Thrust) | over 250 mph |
| Range | more than 300 miles | 620+ miles |
| Charging | 10–80% in ~10–12 minutes (vendor claim) | n/a |
| Weight | ~1,700 kg target | n/a |
| Production | target 2028 | promised 2020 – delivered never (until now) |

The right-hand column is why Reuters led with "miles of missed deadlines":
this was promised as a 2020 car with a 1,000-km range. A 2028 car with 300+ miles and more money
halves the story – but swaps in hardware (suction fans, cold-gas thrusters) that didn't exist in the
old spec sheet at all.

## Pricing: what it actually costs

| Variant | Deposit | Final price |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Performance | $50,000 ($5,000 immediate + $45,000 in 10 days) | Not disclosed |
| Thrust | $250,000 ($5,000 immediate + $245,000 in 10 days) | Not disclosed |
| Rocket | Invite only | Not disclosed |

- The cliff: deposits are not the price. Tesla hasn't announced a base. In 2017 the promise was $200,000-odd; MotorTrend's read on seeing the car is that Performance alone exceeds that after eight years of inflation, and Thrust/Rocket multiply from there. A six-figure deposit may end up buying a seat on a very long waiting list.

- Concrete: the math of "pay $250k now to maybe later get a car at an unknown final price" is uncharted financial territory for this outlet – treat the reservation like a down payment on venture risk, not a car purchase.

- Refunds: MotorTrend reports Tesla lists the deposit as refundable; still, a $245k balance due within ten days is not an entry to leave idle on a payment card.

## The demo, and what it does (and doesn't) prove

What was shown: the Performance car's fans and fences let it climb a ramp that curves to vertical wall
and continue inverted on the ceiling (suction does the gripping, not magic); the Thrust car then shot
off an inverted ledge and landed on its wheels; the Rocket variant leapt over a stationary truck and
demonstrated yaw-control flips mid-air. Musk framed it as the culmination of Tesla and SpaceX
engineering collaboration, and Lars Moravy quoted the < 1-second 0–60 and 230+ mph figures on
stage (variations exist between variants and between channels, so we quote each claim where it was
made).

What it doesn't prove: any street-driving policy movement. These demos ran on a closed, private test
facility; "flying cars" don't arrive because a car can jump – NHTSA, FAA and aviation regulators have
no category for road cars with thruster packages, and the Rocket is not just invite-only, it's a
track machine. Treat the thruster package as a track-day and showpiece capability in this
generation of the product.

## The India angle

- Tesla now sells the Model Y in India, but the Roadster reservation funnel is a US-led program: deposits go through Tesla's website in USD, and Tesla has not announced India delivery plans for it.

- For anyone importing: Performance at ~$200–250k maps to roughly ₹1.7–2.2 crore before shipping/gst/duty – realistically ₹2.5–3 crore class landed; the Thrust tier likely crosses ₹5 crore. These are planning numbers, not quotes.

- For comparison, India's performance-EV benchmark today tops out well under the ₹1 crore mark; the Roadster's realistic India price puts it in supercar-plus territory with no local service plan announced.

## Who should consider it – and who should skip it

- Consider if: you collect halo EVs, specifically want the Thrust track experience, can absorb a $250k lead-deposit gamble, and accept a 2028 (and slipping) delivery window as Tesla has done with this nameplate before.

- Skip if: you need a car in the next couple of years, expect the "flight" demo to be a road thing, or believe the reservation is the purchase price. Also skip if you were holding out for the 1,000-km range story – that promise didn't survive into 2026.

- Consider instead: a Plaid-class Model S at a fraction of the price if raw acceleration threads the needle for you; or proper supercar class rivals from other brands – our site is hardware-first, so we keep this aside as an expression of tech, not a practical recommendation.

## What this means for EV tech

From someone who evaluates compute-hardware all week: the interesting questions here aren't the
speed-claims. The Roadster's real engineering story is power density – a two-motor 1 MW drive unit,
a 4680 battery management system that survives 10–12 minute 10–80% charging claims, and drive-by-wire
everything. Technologies proven here (the Optimus-derived actuators that move the wings and thruster
valves, cooling architecture, charging curves) tend to migrate down the lineup. The thrusters themselves
are likely to stay a halo feature, not a trend.

## Bottom line

The 2028 Roadster is a showpiece, not a product – an engineering flex (in the words of one analyst who
reviewed the event as more marketing than roadmap) meant to re-center Tesla's identity on raw
engineering while the company bets on robots and robotaxis. As a machine, it promises genuinely
advanced EV hardware. As a purchase, it's a $5k-or-$245k reservation against unspecified future
pricing from a company that has blown the deadline on this exact car before. Be impressed by the tech;
reserve with eyes open.

## Sources

- Reuters: Tesla's new Roadster demo, variants, deposits, 2028 production start (Oct 15, 2026)

- MotorTrend: 2028 Tesla Roadster first look – variant hardware deep-dive from pre-event access (Oct 16, 2026)

- Tesla Roadster official page: variants and reservation details

- MotorTrend: how the Roadster's thrust system works

- Car and Driver: Roadster hub and timeline coverage

- Our NVIDIA RTX Spark laptops launch guide (the week's other hardware launch)

*Content and image notice:* this is VelsTech Solutions' own summary of the cited sources – no article
text is reproduced wholesale, and all performance figures are attributed vendor claims. The product image is
© Tesla, Inc. – a still from Tesla's own livestream, used here for editorial coverage with the credit kept
in the figcaption (see also [img/tesla-roadster-2028/NOTICE.md](https://velstech.net/img/tesla-roadster-2028/NOTICE.md)).
Tesla, Roadster and related marks are trademarks of Tesla, Inc.; SpaceX is a trademark of Space Exploration
Technologies Corp. Other brand names are trademarks of their respective owners.

## FAQ

**When will the new Tesla Roadster launch, and how much will it cost?**

Tesla is targeting production in 2028, with no announced pricing. Reservations opened at the Oct 15, 2026 event: $50,000 deposit for Performance, $250,000 for Thrust (both with $5,000 payable immediately and the balance within 10 days), and the single-seat Rocket is invite-only. In 2017 the base was quoted at $200,000; analysts expect more than that today.

**What's the difference between Roadster Performance, Thrust and Rocket?**

Performance adds four underbody fans and active aero (0–60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph). Thrust adds a 200-liter, 10,000-psi compressed-nitrogen tank feeding four rear cold-gas thrusters (0–60 under 1 second, ~383 mph top-speed target). Rocket is a single-seater with double the gas volume (600 L) and six additional thrusters used for jumps and yaw control – invite only.

**How does the Roadster "fly"?**

Two mechanisms: strong suction fans under the car create negative pressure so Performance can grip a vertical and even inverted surface, and cold-gas thrusters (compressed nitrogen released through nozzles) provide very short boosts, hops and mid-air control. All demos were on a closed, private test track; there is no street-legal flight capability.

**What are the confirmed specs of the next-gen Roadster?**

Confirmed/targeted vendor figures: a skateboard platform with two rear motors producing about 1 megawatt (~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft), a 4680-cell pack "well over 100 kWh" (exact size withheld), 300+ mile range, 10–80% charge in ~10–12 minutes, ~1,700 kg target weight, and drive-by-wire controls. All figures are claims for a prototype, not certified production specs.

**Has the Roadster been delayed before?**

Yes, several times. The second-generation concept was shown in 2017 with a 2020 production promise, which slipped through 2021-2026 before the Oct 2026 reveal. The current target – start of production 2028 – comes with a reduced range promise (300+ miles vs the original 620+).

**Can I reserve the Roadster in India?**

Tesla takes reservations on its global website in USD, but hasn't announced India allocations for the Roadster. Realistic landed-cost planning in today's terms puts Performance around the ₹2.5–3 crore class with duties and taxes; Tesla India sells the Model Y but has made no Roadster-specific announcements.

## FAQ

**When will the new Tesla Roadster launch, and how much will it cost?**

Tesla is targeting production in 2028, with no announced pricing. Reservations opened Oct 15, 2026: $50,000 deposit for Performance and $250,000 for Thrust ($5,000 immediately + balance within 10 days); the single-seat Rocket is invite-only. The $200,000 base quoted in 2017 is widely expected to be exceeded today.

**What is the difference between Roadster Performance, Thrust and Rocket?**

Performance adds four underbody fans plus active aero (0-60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph). Thrust adds a 200-liter, 10,000-psi nitrogen tank feeding four rear cold-gas thrusters (0-60 under 1 s, ~383 mph top-speed target). Rocket is a single-seater with double the gas volume (600 L), six extra thrusters for hops and yaw control, and is invite-only.

**How does the Roadster 'fly'?**

Two mechanisms: high-speed suction fans create negative pressure under the car (so Performance can climb a vertical surface inverted), and cold-gas thrusters venting compressed nitrogen provide short boosts, hops and mid-air yaw control. All demos ran on a closed private test facility - there is no street-legal flight capability.

**What are the confirmed specs of the next-gen Roadster?**

Vendor-targeted figures: two rear motors producing ~1 MW (~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft), a 4680-cell pack 'well over 100 kWh' (exact capacity withheld by Tesla), 300+ mile range, 10-80% charge in ~10-12 minutes, ~1,700 kg target weight, drive-by-wire controls. All are prototype claims, not certified production specs.

**Has the Roadster been delayed before?**

Yes - the gen-2 concept debuted in 2017 promising deliveries in 2020; those dates slipped through 2026 before the Oct 15, 2026 reveal. The current 2028 production target also comes with a reduced range promise: 300+ miles versus the original 620+.

**Can I reserve the Roadster in India?**

Reservations run through Tesla's global website in USD; no India-specific allocations or dates have been announced. Planning-level landed-cost estimates put Performance around the Rs 2.5-3 crore class with duties and taxes. Tesla India currently sells the Model Y only.

---

*VelsTech Solutions – technology explained for everyone. Original: https://velstech.net/tesla-roadster-2028*
