Tesla revealed its next-generation Roadster on October 15, 2026 at SpaceX's McGregor, Texas test site โ a white two-seater co-developed with SpaceX that, in the live demo, drove up a ramp, crossed over onto a vertical wall, drove inverted, and later jumped a truck using built-in cold-gas thrusters. Three variants went up on Tesla's reservation page the same night: Performance, Thrust, and an invite-only, single-seat Rocket. Musk said production is targeted for 2028. This is a production-intent evolution of the 2017 Roadster prototype, nine years in the making.
Every other site will repeat that spectacle. Here is what they skip: Tesla redacted the exact battery capacity and pricing from its briefing before the event, the 0โ60 and top-speed figures are stage targets (Tesla quotes sub-one-second 0โ60 for the Thrust variant; Reuters reported "over 230 mph" for the top-speed claim), the flagship range promise shrank from 620+ miles (2017) to "300+", and the "flight" bits stay closed-course demonstrations on private property โ nothing added to the US road rules. That is what this guide covers.
Source note: specs, times and reservations come from the Oct 15 event, Tesla's updated Roadster page and reporting by Reuters and MotorTrend (which got pre-event access and says Tesla asked for key numbers to be redacted). All performance figures are vendor claims for a prototype โ not independently verified production specs.
Related: it was a busy week in tech hardware. If you came for the compute angle rather than the car angle, read our guide to the NVIDIA RTX Spark laptops that launched the very next day, or our local-AI desktop showdown.
The short version: Roadster 2028 in 60 seconds
- What: an all-new Tesla two-seater sports car, built as a production-intent evolution of the 2017 prototype and co-developed with SpaceX tech โ active suction fans, compressed-gas thrusters, and a skateboard platform with two rear motors.
- Price / date: no final pricing announced โ production targeted for 2028. Reservations: $50,000 deposit for Performance ($5,000 now, $45,000 within 10 days) and $250,000 for Thrust; Rocket is invite-only.
- Specs: 4680-cell pack over 100 kWh (exact capacity withheld), two Plaid-derived motors making ~1 megawatt (~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft), target weight ~1,700 kg, 300+ mile range, 10โ80% charge in ~10โ12 minutes (vendor).
- Headline claim: Performance: 0โ60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph; Thrust: 0โ60 under one second and a top-speed target around 383 mph; Rocket: sustained "hopping" and yaw-control demos using six extra thrusters.
- Catch: every number is a vendor claim on a prototype; the road-legal variants do not include any demonstrated thruster "flight"; range target is now less than half of what was promised for this car in 2017; pricing unknown after deposits.
- Who: collectors and performance enthusiasts able to stomach six-figure non-refundable-on-time deposits โ for everyday buyers this is a halo car, not a practical choice.
What the new Roadster actually is
It is a ground-up reboot, not the 2017 prototype restyled. Tesla calls it a skateboard platform like every Model S since: a large flat battery between the wheels feeding two motors (not the Plaid's three) mounted at the rear. The battery uses Tesla's large-format 4680 cells in new chemistry and a cooling architecture with a titanium shielding cover; the pack holds "substantially more than 100 kWh" โ the exact figure was redacted at Tesla's request ahead of publication, presumably because it wasn't finalized.
Performance-side hardware reads far past Plaid though: a drive unit about 30% lighter and 50% more powerful, targeting ~1 MW total (~500 kW per motor), roughly 1,500 hp and near-1,000 lb-ft; a target kerb weight of around 1,700 kg; and full drive-by-wire braking, steering and throttle with independent carbon-ceramic brakes. That combination, if it all works, is where the sub-2-second timescale comes from even before any fancy suction or thrust tech.
The three variants, and which one does what
| Variant | Special hardware | Claims (vendor) | Reservation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Performance | Four underbody fans + "aero fences" (active suction), F1-inspired active wings and vents | 0โ60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph top speed; downforce even at standstill; track modes | $50,000 ($5k now + $45k in 10 days) |
| Thrust | Performance package plus a ~200-liter, 10,000-psi COPV tank behind the seats feeding four rear cold-gas thrusters | 0โ60 under 1 second, top-speed target ~383 mph (Musk: "half the speed of sound") | $250,000 ($5k now + $245k in 10 days) |
| Rocket | Single-seat; second, doubled COPV (600 L total); 6 added thrusters (one behind each wheel pointing down, two at the nose for yaw) | Sustained ground "hops," yaw flips; the vehicle that jumped the truck on stage (invite-only) | Invite only |
The honest row is the last one: the variant ladder exists so that the flagship tech โ the one that jumped the truck and did the barrel roll โ is not actually the model most people can order. Performance and Thrust are buildable road cars; Rocket is effectively a one-off program Tesla gets to gatekeep.
Specs at a glance
| Spec | 2028 Roadster (target) | 2017 prototype promise |
|---|---|---|
| Powertrain | 2 rear motors, ~1 MW, ~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft | 3 motors, ~1,000 hp + "10,000 Nm wheel torque" claim |
| Battery | 4680 cells, "well over 100 kWh" (exact figure withheld) | "200 kWh" claim |
| 0โ60 mph | under ~1.6 s (Performance) / under 1 s (Thrust, with thrust boost) | under 2 s |
| Top speed | 210+ mph (Performance) / ~383 mph target (Thrust) | over 250 mph |
| Range | more than 300 miles | 620+ miles |
| Charging | 10โ80% in ~10โ12 minutes (vendor claim) | n/a |
| Weight | ~1,700 kg target | n/a |
| Production | target 2028 | promised 2020 โ delivered never (until now) |
The right-hand column is why Reuters led with "miles of missed deadlines": this was promised as a 2020 car with a 1,000-km range. A 2028 car with 300+ miles and more money halves the story โ but swaps in hardware (suction fans, cold-gas thrusters) that didn't exist in the old spec sheet at all.
Pricing: what it actually costs
| Variant | Deposit | Final price |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | $50,000 ($5,000 immediate + $45,000 in 10 days) | Not disclosed |
| Thrust | $250,000 ($5,000 immediate + $245,000 in 10 days) | Not disclosed |
| Rocket | Invite only | Not disclosed |
- The cliff: deposits are not the price. Tesla hasn't announced a base. In 2017 the promise was $200,000-odd; MotorTrend's read on seeing the car is that Performance alone exceeds that after eight years of inflation, and Thrust/Rocket multiply from there. A six-figure deposit may end up buying a seat on a very long waiting list.
- Concrete: the math of "pay $250k now to maybe later get a car at an unknown final price" is uncharted financial territory for this outlet โ treat the reservation like a down payment on venture risk, not a car purchase.
- Refunds: MotorTrend reports Tesla lists the deposit as refundable; still, a $245k balance due within ten days is not an entry to leave idle on a payment card.
The demo, and what it does (and doesn't) prove
What was shown: the Performance car's fans and fences let it climb a ramp that curves to vertical wall and continue inverted on the ceiling (suction does the gripping, not magic); the Thrust car then shot off an inverted ledge and landed on its wheels; the Rocket variant leapt over a stationary truck and demonstrated yaw-control flips mid-air. Musk framed it as the culmination of Tesla and SpaceX engineering collaboration, and Lars Moravy quoted the < 1-second 0โ60 and 230+ mph figures on stage (variations exist between variants and between channels, so we quote each claim where it was made).
What it doesn't prove: any street-driving policy movement. These demos ran on a closed, private test facility; "flying cars" don't arrive because a car can jump โ NHTSA, FAA and aviation regulators have no category for road cars with thruster packages, and the Rocket is not just invite-only, it's a track machine. Treat the thruster package as a track-day and showpiece capability in this generation of the product.
The India angle
- Tesla now sells the Model Y in India, but the Roadster reservation funnel is a US-led program: deposits go through Tesla's website in USD, and Tesla has not announced India delivery plans for it.
- For anyone importing: Performance at ~$200โ250k maps to roughly โน1.7โ2.2 crore before shipping/gst/duty โ realistically โน2.5โ3 crore class landed; the Thrust tier likely crosses โน5 crore. These are planning numbers, not quotes.
- For comparison, India's performance-EV benchmark today tops out well under the โน1 crore mark; the Roadster's realistic India price puts it in supercar-plus territory with no local service plan announced.
Who should consider it โ and who should skip it
- Consider if: you collect halo EVs, specifically want the Thrust track experience, can absorb a $250k lead-deposit gamble, and accept a 2028 (and slipping) delivery window as Tesla has done with this nameplate before.
- Skip if: you need a car in the next couple of years, expect the "flight" demo to be a road thing, or believe the reservation is the purchase price. Also skip if you were holding out for the 1,000-km range story โ that promise didn't survive into 2026.
- Consider instead: a Plaid-class Model S at a fraction of the price if raw acceleration threads the needle for you; or proper supercar class rivals from other brands โ our site is hardware-first, so we keep this aside as an expression of tech, not a practical recommendation.
What this means for EV tech
From someone who evaluates compute-hardware all week: the interesting questions here aren't the speed-claims. The Roadster's real engineering story is power density โ a two-motor 1 MW drive unit, a 4680 battery management system that survives 10โ12 minute 10โ80% charging claims, and drive-by-wire everything. Technologies proven here (the Optimus-derived actuators that move the wings and thruster valves, cooling architecture, charging curves) tend to migrate down the lineup. The thrusters themselves are likely to stay a halo feature, not a trend.
Bottom line
The 2028 Roadster is a showpiece, not a product โ an engineering flex (in the words of one analyst who reviewed the event as more marketing than roadmap) meant to re-center Tesla's identity on raw engineering while the company bets on robots and robotaxis. As a machine, it promises genuinely advanced EV hardware. As a purchase, it's a $5k-or-$245k reservation against unspecified future pricing from a company that has blown the deadline on this exact car before. Be impressed by the tech; reserve with eyes open.
Sources
- Reuters: Tesla's new Roadster demo, variants, deposits, 2028 production start (Oct 15, 2026)
- MotorTrend: 2028 Tesla Roadster first look โ variant hardware deep-dive from pre-event access (Oct 16, 2026)
- Tesla Roadster official page: variants and reservation details
- MotorTrend: how the Roadster's thrust system works
- Car and Driver: Roadster hub and timeline coverage
- Our NVIDIA RTX Spark laptops launch guide (the week's other hardware launch)
Content and image notice: this is VelsTech Solutions' own summary of the cited sources โ no article text is reproduced wholesale, and all performance figures are attributed vendor claims. The product image is ยฉ Tesla, Inc. โ a still from Tesla's own livestream, used here for editorial coverage with the credit kept in the figcaption (see also img/tesla-roadster-2028/NOTICE.md). Tesla, Roadster and related marks are trademarks of Tesla, Inc.; SpaceX is a trademark of Space Exploration Technologies Corp. Other brand names are trademarks of their respective owners.
FAQ
When will the new Tesla Roadster launch, and how much will it cost?
Tesla is targeting production in 2028, with no announced pricing. Reservations opened at the Oct 15, 2026 event: $50,000 deposit for Performance, $250,000 for Thrust (both with $5,000 payable immediately and the balance within 10 days), and the single-seat Rocket is invite-only. In 2017 the base was quoted at $200,000; analysts expect more than that today.
What's the difference between Roadster Performance, Thrust and Rocket?
Performance adds four underbody fans and active aero (0โ60 under ~1.6 s, 210+ mph). Thrust adds a 200-liter, 10,000-psi compressed-nitrogen tank feeding four rear cold-gas thrusters (0โ60 under 1 second, ~383 mph top-speed target). Rocket is a single-seater with double the gas volume (600 L) and six additional thrusters used for jumps and yaw control โ invite only.
How does the Roadster "fly"?
Two mechanisms: strong suction fans under the car create negative pressure so Performance can grip a vertical and even inverted surface, and cold-gas thrusters (compressed nitrogen released through nozzles) provide very short boosts, hops and mid-air control. All demos were on a closed, private test track; there is no street-legal flight capability.
What are the confirmed specs of the next-gen Roadster?
Confirmed/targeted vendor figures: a skateboard platform with two rear motors producing about 1 megawatt (~1,500 hp, ~1,000 lb-ft), a 4680-cell pack "well over 100 kWh" (exact size withheld), 300+ mile range, 10โ80% charge in ~10โ12 minutes, ~1,700 kg target weight, and drive-by-wire controls. All figures are claims for a prototype, not certified production specs.
Has the Roadster been delayed before?
Yes, several times. The second-generation concept was shown in 2017 with a 2020 production promise, which slipped through 2021-2026 before the Oct 2026 reveal. The current target โ start of production 2028 โ comes with a reduced range promise (300+ miles vs the original 620+).
Can I reserve the Roadster in India?
Tesla takes reservations on its global website in USD, but hasn't announced India allocations for the Roadster. Realistic landed-cost planning in today's terms puts Performance around the โน2.5โ3 crore class with duties and taxes; Tesla India sells the Model Y but has made no Roadster-specific announcements.